Problems using VZ Contact Transfer app?

You’re a Verizon customer moving your service from an old phone to the new iPhone 4. You have your contacts on the Verizon Wireless “Backup Assistant” web-based service and are using Verizon’s VZ Contact Transfer app for iPhone to move your contacts from the old phone to the iPhone.

The steps recommended are:

1) Launch app.
2) Enter your phone number.
3) A text message is returned containing an access code.
4) Enter code and wait.

But the process hangs on step two.

My friend Mike reports that the solution (discovered after conversations with three Verizon tech support staff) is simple: Turn off the iPhone’s WiFi first.

About Karen Anderson

To paraphrase Mark Morris, "I'm a writer; I write!" Just as a dancer dances to the music, I write to message and to the audience.
This entry was posted in iPhone apps, iPhone news and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Problems using VZ Contact Transfer app?

  1. EP says:

    Thanks so much…worked like a charm, after trying for hours last night. :)

  2. James says:

    Thank you soo much I was getting soo frustrated :-)

  3. Kim says:

    THANK YOU!!! :D

  4. Vanessa Rivera says:

    Thank you!!! It’s finally working!!! :)

  5. Will says:

    Thank you! This solved the issue! I was getting quite upset. Why can’t these simple steps be on the VZ website?!

  6. Ben says:

    What a frustrating time…..and a simple solution! THANK YOU!!

  7. Matt says:

    I have tried to backup my contacts with this app prior to the 30 day expiration and I get an error message. It take over an hour to get that error message for attempting to sync 175 contacts! Any suggestions?

    • Bob,
      If you have already made sure that WiFi is off when you attempt the sync, I’m not sure what to recommend next — except that you call Verizon. With the WiFi off, the sync is occurring through their system, and they’re the best ones to troubleshoot it.
      Let us know what happens!
      Cheers,
      Karen

  8. Bob says:

    I learned this yesterday and got my contacts to transfer to the iPhone. Since then, I’ve gone in to my contacts via my computer and added some information and want to upload that to my phone. When I try to us VZ Contact Transfer, it seems to stall and it just seems to “spin” for minutes on end. It finally worked after about 15 minutes. My wi-fi is off. Any ideas why it is taking so long?

  9. Bob,
    The VZ Contact Transfer app is for a one-time transfer of contacts from your own Verizon phone to your new Verizon iPhone. Contact data from your computer to the new iPhone can be transferred in one of two ways:

    1. By connecting your iPhone to iTunes and then configuring iTunes (using the Info panel) to sync your Contacts. Once you’ve configured it, you will need to attach the iPhone to iTunes and sync on a regular basis.

    2. By syncing your Contacts via Apple’s MobileMe or another “cloud” system (such as Google). If you choose that type of syncing, your data will sync automatically whenever your computer or iPhone are connected to the Internet.

    Be careful — use only one of the above two methods, or else you’ll end up with multiple copies of your Contacts, and a real mess.

    I describe synching strategies for Contacts, Calendars, Mail and more in detail in my ebook Take Control of iPhone Basics in the section “Move Files and Data Between Your iPhone and the Computer.”

    Cheers,

    Karen

  10. Lynsey says:

    When I try to run VZ Contact Transfer (and I have turned off the Wifi setting), it recognizes that I have over 300 contacts on the Verizon server. As it tries to pull them to the phone, it gets up to #10, and then I get an error “Network Error- Application lost network connection. Please retry later.” Problem is, I have full service and am actually NOT experiencing any other network problems. I have tried un-installing the app and power cycling the phone, and I continuously get this error. Any help?

  11. This is definitely the time to call Verizon. The only “trick” I’ve found is turning off WiFi. If that’s not working for you, there is obviously another problem that may be specific to your contacts or the server they are on.

  12. Ally says:

    When I try to transfer my contacts using the app…i get an error saying we’re sorry vz contact transfer was interrupted. what does that mean?

  13. It sounds like it has timed out. I recommend calling Verizon as asking if they have advice about this. Also, did you check to see if there is a newer version of the app?

  14. Glenda says:

    Access code has a dash. I can not get it to type.

  15. Nicole Miller says:

    My transfer is working correctly – it says 180 contacts have been transferred, but the actual phone numbers are not showing up on my phone.

    Is there a setting I am missing?

    • Drenay says:

      I’m having the same problem with mine. Any updated advice?

      • Wait an hour. Then turn the phone completely (using the power key at the top). Restart the phone (again, using the power key). Are your contacts there now?

        If not, give either Apple or Verizon a call. If you have a new iPhone or an iPhone with Apple care, Apple support is free. And Verizon support is always free.

        Fortunately, Verizon’s tech support has improved a great deal recently. Give them a call; they should be able to walk you through it.

  16. Nicole, this may be a question for Verizon. However, I would first leave the phone alone for a few hours, then reboot it, and check to see if the numbers and contacts have appeared.

  17. Don Lowery says:

    What happens if – because I have more than one iTunes ID associated with my Macbook pro – when I try to download the vz-contact-transfer application it defaults to the wrong iTunes ID and locks me out of being able to change that email address (a situation where convenience prevents usability)

  18. Don, this is an ugly problem. I’d recommend talking with the iPhone customer service folks (i.e., Apple) and start by telling them it’s a Verizon-contact-transfer problem. The reason I suggest talking with Apple, not Verizon, is that Verizon will have no idea what to do about multiple iTunes IDs. The issue of multiple IDs (Apple IDs, MobileMe accounts, etc.) is one that Apple is having to grapple with because of people transitioning to iCloud. If anyone can help you with this, they can. I’m afraid my advice would have been to only have one iTunes account in the first place…but I’m sure you have a good reason for having the multiples.

  19. Donna says:

    My access code has a dash but the dash will not type and if I send it without the dash it comes back invalid. Please help.

    • trish says:

      You probably figured it out already, but for others the 620-0 is not access code. Open the actual text message and you will get an access code that is alphanumeric.

  20. Courtney says:

    my wifi is off, and it still wont send me an access code. any suggestions?

  21. Terry Marlowe says:

    Is there a way to retrieve contacts from previous transfer? I have lost all contacts.

  22. Donna says:

    Do you have to sync contacts ever so often on vz contact transfer or is it just a one time thing to get your contacts?

  23. Brennon E. says:

    When we type in the phone number the message comes up in regards to an error lost connection to server. What could be the issue here?

  24. Brennon,
    I’m stumped by this one. It sounds like a Verizon issue rather than iPhone — I’d urge you to contact Verizon customer service.
    Karen

Leave a Reply

