Please tell me why I like this app

As I explore the App Store offerings, I’m struck by applications that don’t do very much but are terrific fun to use and ones that have a lot of power but are a pain the garbanzo to deal with.

Relax, I’m about to talk about a fun one. It’s the Hipstamatic, a retro camera app that makes using your 5 megapixel iPhone 4 feel like you’re snapping a photo at a 1960s Sock Hop.

The Hipstamatic is a piece of marketing genius. Because after you buy it, you have to buy lenses, film and filters for it! It’s just like the bad old days, only instead of running down to the camera store and drugstore at the shopping center (remember, this pre-dates the mall) you get onto the App Store.

I’m going to send you over to digital photography expert Photojojo who will explain why this silly thing is so charming and show you what you can do with the 336 combinations of film, filters, and lenses. I’m too busy taking prom pictures of  LOLcats.

About Karen Anderson

To paraphrase Mark Morris, "I'm a writer; I write!" Just as a dancer dances to the music, I write to message and to the audience.
This entry was posted in iPhone apps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

